Blog Tour: Lost and Found Sisters by Jill Shalvis

Welcome to the Lost and Found Sisters blog tour post! This is the first book in Jill Shalvis‘ awesome new series Wildstone and I’m so excited to share this book with you guys!

I’ve got lots of fun things in this post, including a review, an excerpt, and some teasers! So scroll on down and check out all the fun stuff (:

Blog Tour: Lost and Found Sisters by Jill ShalvisLost and Found Sisters (Wildstone, #1) by Jill Shalvis
Series: Wildstone #1
Published by William Morrow Paperbacks on June 20th 2017
Genres: Contemporary, Fiction, Romance
Pages: 400
Source: Publisher
Goodreads
four-stars

From New York Times bestselling author Jill Shalvis comes her first women's fiction novel—an unforgettable story of friendship, love, family, and sisterhood—perfect for fans of Colleen Hoover, Susan Mallery, and Kristan Higgins.

They say life can change in an instant…

After losing her sister in a devastating car accident, chef Quinn Weller is finally getting her life back on track. She appears to have it all: a loving family, a dream job in one of L.A.'s hottest eateries, and a gorgeous boyfriend dying to slip an engagement ring on her finger. So why does she feel so empty, like she's looking for a missing piece she can't find?

The answer comes when a lawyer tracks down Quinn and reveals a bombshell secret and a mysterious inheritance that only she can claim. This shocking revelation washes over Quinn like a tidal wave. Her whole life has been a lie.

On impulse, Quinn gives up her job, home, and boyfriend. She heads up the coast to the small hometown of Wildstone, California, which is just a few hours north, but feels worlds apart from Los Angeles. Though she doesn't quite fit in right away, she can't help but be drawn to the town’s simple pleasures…and the handsome, dark-haired stranger who offers friendship with no questions asked.

As Quinn settles into Wildstone, she discovers there's another surprise in store for her. The inheritance isn't a house or money, but rather something earthshattering, something that will make her question everything she thought she knew about herself, about her family. Now with a world of possibilities opening up to Quinn, she must decide if this new life is the one she was always meant to have—and the one that could finally give her the fulfillment she's searched so long for.

Review:

Pretty darn cute. This is the second Jill Shalvis series that I’ve read and it definitely didn’t disappoint. This is a sort of a mix of a family story and a romance and every part is delightful, from self-discoveries, to new friendships and experiences.

She was so used to not feeling a single thing. And now here she was feeling…everything. All the time.

After her sister’s death 2 years ago, Quinn Wells’ life has sort of been on auto-pilot. But after a life-changing secret is revealed, Quinn ends up in small-town California, Wildstone to be exact, with a new little sister, Tilly. I really loved Quinn’s and Tilly’s sister dynamic and seeing them learn to trust each other, especially the sassy teenage Tilly who reveled in the teenage angst life (but was still hilarious). I just adored Quinn because despite the craziness that suddenly hits her, she really puts her whole heart into this relationship.

Tilly finally gave up fighting it and sighed. “You’re so weird.”
“I know,” Quinn whispered, and she held on tight.
So did Tilly.

Okay, the romance! I adored Mick and super adorable dog, Copper (who often can easily steal the show). Quinn’s and Mick’s meet-cute and and flirting was just so friggin’ cute and I loved their chemistry. I also loved that Mick just wasn’t a love interest and we got to see his relationship with Wildstone, too.

She hesitated, then put her face to the peephole hoping Beth had ordered her a pizza from the afterlife. But it wasn’t pizza. It was Coop. And his human, Mick.

So I think the best part of about any small-town stories are the people in the town and Shalvis is spot on with her characters. From the new co-workers and friends, and old men who always have an opinion, to a frenemy that keeps Quinn on her toes, it was so enjoyable seeing them interact.

Overall, Lost and Found Sisters was a heartwarming and charming read. Sprinkled with humour, it’s got a story and characters that’ll easy win your heart. The story also has some interesting set up for the next book! Definitely looking forward to heading back to Wildstone.

{*Thanks to Harper Collins for providing an eARC in exchange for an honest review.


…………

About Jill Shalvis

New York Times and USA Today bestselling author Jill Shalvis lives in a small town in the Sierras full of quirky characters. Any resemblance to the quirky characters in her books is, um, mostly coincidental. Look for Jill’s sexy contemporary and award-winning books wherever romances are sold and click on the blog button above for a complete book list and daily blog detailing her city-girl-living-in-the-mountains adventures.


Buy the book: Amazon | B&N | Chapters Indigo | Google Play | iBooks | Books-a-Million | Indiebound

………….

Excerpt:

To Mick’s relief, he caught Quinn in the parking lot, leaning against her car, her thumbs moving furiously over the screen of her phone. When she saw him, she grimaced.

He lifted his hands and stayed out of her personal space. “Thought you could use a ride back to the B and B,” he said.

“I’m not driving.” She lifted her phone. “I’m trying to get an Uber.”

He smiled. “How’s that going?”

She sighed and slipped her phone into her pocket. “So Wildstone doesn’t have drive-throughs, Thai takeout, or Uber? Seriously?”

“We have other things.”

“Yes,” she said. “Ghosts. Big bugs. Cute dogs. And girlfriends, apparently.”

“Lena’s not my girlfriend,” he said. “She’s Boomer’s. Sort of.” He shook his head. “It’s complicated.”

She didn’t take her eyes off him. “But you’ve slept together.”

He arched a brow.

“I’m sorry,” she said, closing her eyes. “That was rude. There’s a chemistry there, and a familiarity, that’s all. You know what? Don’t listen to me. My tongue’s running the show and I think I’m just jealous at how everyone else seems to take life’s shit in stride and keep going. I haven’t learned that trick and I need to. And how to keep going, that is. Like the Energizer Bunny. Or my electric toothbrush. God.” She pressed her hands to her face. “I really need to stop talking. Make me stop talking!”

He took her hand and tugged her to his truck.

“Wait,” she said, putting a hand to his chest and fisting it in his shirt to hold him to her. “You’re not a murderer or a rapist or anything like that, right?”

He lifted a hand. “Scout’s honor.”

“Were you a Boy Scout?”

Laughing a little at that because he’d been just about the furthest thing from a Boy Scout, he gently pushed her into the passenger seat and leaned in to buckle her seat belt, and suddenly their faces were an inch from each other. He heard her suck in a breath and he did the same.

Talk about chemistry.

“Mick?” she whispered.

“Yeah?”

“Are you feeling something?”

“You could say that,” he murmured. “You?”

She licked her lips and he nearly groaned. “I think so,” she whispered.

“That’s good.”

“Are you going to kiss me?”

He cupped her face, let his thumbs trace her jawbone, his fingers sinking into her silky waves. “No,” he said quietly. “And not because I don’t want to, but because when I do, I want to know you’re ready. That you’ll feel it.”

She sighed. “Guys do whatever they want all the time, no emotions necessary. I want that skill.” Another shaky breath escaped her, and since they were literally an inch apart, they shared air for a single heartbeat during which neither of them moved.

Her gaze dropped to his mouth. “Okay, so I’m definitely feeling things.” She hesitated and then her hands came up to his chest. “Maybe we should test it out to be sure.”

God, she was the sweetest temptation he’d ever met, and he wanted nothing more than to cover her mouth with his. Instead, he brushed his mouth to her cheek.

“Please, Mick,” she whispered, her exhale warming his throat. He loved the “please,” and he wanted to do just that more than anything. But when she tried to turn her head into his, to line up their mouths, he gently tightened his grip, dragging his mouth along her smooth skin instead, making his way to her ear.

“Not yet,” he whispered, letting his lips brush over her earlobe and the sensitive skin beneath it.

She moaned and clutched him. “Why not?”

It took every ounce of control he had to lift his head and meet her gaze. “Because I want to make sure you’re really with me, that you’re feeling everything I’m feeling. That there’ll be no doubt, no regrets.”

“You sure have a lot of requirements.”

He laughed. And she was right, it was all big talk for a guy who didn’t do relationships anymore. Still, he forced himself to step back and shut the passenger door.

As he rounded the hood to the driver’s side, he tried to remind himself of all the reasons she was a bad idea. He lived two hundred miles away and he was hoping to move his mom up by him and never come back here. Not to mention that Quinn lived an equal two hundred miles in the opposite direction and she was in a deeply vulnerable place. No way would he even think about taking advantage of that.

But when he slid behind the wheel and their eyes locked, he realized that while his mind could stand firm, the rest of his body wasn’t on board with the in-control program.

four-stars

Author: Cyn

noun. a bum a student again. A master’s student…oooh. procrastinator. reader. eater. sleeper. music listen-er. movie go-er. Loves food too much.

7 Replies to “Blog Tour: Lost and Found Sisters by Jill Shalvis”

  1. I am so excited to get to this! I love family stories and romance so if it has both I am all set. Plus a dog that can steal the show. I am all in. Great review!

  2. I have this. I can’t wait to read it. I love the idea of the family thing and the romance set against the small town, too.

    Swoony excerpt, too!

  3. I agree her portrayal of small-town life and the characters regardless of age are spot on and feel genuine.

  4. I am so glad that you enjoyed this one. I thought that this book was really well done. All of the characters were great and I just loved Mitch and Quinn together. Great review!

  5. So glad you loved this. It was such a cute and charming read. I like the quotes you chose too! There were so many to choose from. Great review. Can’t wait for the next book in the series. 🙂

  6. Eeee!! I need to read this one. She always has great communities 🙂

  7. This sounds SO GOOD! I confess that I was a bit bummed at first to hear that Shalvis’ newest project wouldn’t be a romance novel, but from all you’ve said Cyn, this will be right up my alley. Sisters, small towns, and an adorable dog…and his hunky human. What’s not to love? 😉

Leave a Reply