In My Mailbox (05)

In My Mailbox post! Hosted by The Story Siren, In My Mailbox is a chance to showcase new books, ones checked out from the library, bought, won or received for review. All summaries taken from either Goodreads or Amazon.

A favourites books of sorts. A classic, a few gooders, a movember pen (that I got for free! Thanks Indigo!) and a historical romance from Netgalley. Also I won a gift card to Chapters/Indigo in a draw so I can buy more books now! Yay!

     

Bought:

(01) The Princess Bride by William Goldman

“What happens when the most beautiful girl in the world marries the handsomest prince of all time and he turns out to be…well…a lot less than the man of her dreams?

As a boy, William Goldman claims, he loved to hear his father read the S. Morgenstern classic, The Princess Bride. But as a grown-up he discovered that the boring parts were left out of good old Dad’s recitation, and only the “good parts” reached his ears.

Now Goldman does Dad one better. He’s reconstructed the “Good Parts Version” to delight wise kids and wide-eyed grownups everywhere.

What’s it about? Fencing. Fighting. True Love. Strong Hate. Harsh Revenge. A Few Giants. Lots of Bad Men. Lots of Good Men. Five or Six Beautiful Women. Beasties Monstrous and Gentle. Some Swell Escapes and Captures. Death, Lies, Truth, Miracles, and a Little Sex.

In short, it’s about everything”

Ok. This was just a nice to treat to myself. The Princess Bride is one of my favouritest  book everrrrrrrr. It really is about everything (fantastic and utterly awesome)!! I figured it was high time that I actually owned it so I can read it whenever now (:

(02) Anna Dressed in Blood by Kendare Blake

“Just your average boy-meets-girl, girl-kills-people story…

Cas Lowood has inherited an unusual vocation: He kills the dead.

So did his father before him, until his gruesome murder by a ghost he sought to kill. Now, armed with his father’s mysterious and deadly athame, Cas travels the country with his kitchen-witch mother and their spirit-sniffing cat. Together they follow legends and local lore, trying to keep up with the murderous dead—keeping pesky things like the future and friends at bay.

When they arrive in a new town in search of a ghost the locals call Anna Dressed in Blood, Cas doesn’t expect anything outside of the ordinary: move, hunt, kill. What he finds instead is a girl entangled in curses and rage, a ghost like he’s never faced before. She still wears the dress she wore on the day of her brutal murder in 1958: once white, but now stained red and dripping blood. Since her death, Anna has killed any and every person who has dared to step into the deserted Victorian she used to call home.

And she, for whatever reason, spares his life”

Another favourite of mine, I bought this book for my friend’s birthday, except now I’m super tempted to just keep it for myself haha. If you haven’t read this book and you’re a fan of a good ghost story definitely check it out! (Mine and Kim’s review). Also I basically have a built-in Christmas present too since the second book, Girl of Nightmare is fabulous too and obviously needs to read in short order.

(03) Just Like Heaven by Julia Quinn

“Honoria Smythe-Smith is: A) a really bad violinist
B) still miffed at being nicknamed “Bug” as a child
C) not in love with her older brother’s best friend
D) all of the above

Marcus Holroyd is: A) the Earl of Chatteris
B) regrettably prone to sprained ankles
C) not in love with his best friend’s younger sister
D) all of the above

Together they: A) eat quite a bit of chocolate cake
B) survive a deadly fever and the world’s worst musical performance
C) fall quite desperately in love
It’s Julia Quinn at her best, so you know the answer is . . .
D) all of the above”

Another book bought for a birthday present for a friend (I’m such a good friend (; haha). Julia Quinn!! Ok she’s probably my favourite historical romance author. She just writes such sweet and fun romances. This is the Smythe-Smith Quartet series, and if you’ve read any of Julia Quinn’s book, you’ll know that the Smythe-Smiths have been popping up in her books for a while and they’re finally getting their own series. My friend loves the Bridgerton series (which also happens to be my favourite series too!) and I’ve been wanting her to read this, so I figured easiest way is to get it for her!

NetGalley

(01) A Most Scandalous Proposal by Ashlyn Macnamara

“After watching her beloved sister Sophia pine over the ton’s Golden Boy for years, Miss Julia St. Claire has foresworn love and put herself firmly on the shelf. Unfortunately, her social-climbing mother and debt-ridden father have other ideas, and jump at the chance to marry Julia off to the newly-named Earl of Clivesden…the man of Sophia’s dreams.

Since resigning his Cavalry commission, Benedict Revelstoke has spent his time in London avoiding the marriage mart. But when he discovers that the Earl of Clivesden has set Julia in his sights, Benedict tries to protect his childhood best friend from the man’s advances—only to discover more than friendship driving his desire to defend her. He surprises them both with the force of his feelings, but when she refuses him and her father announces her betrothal, he fears he’s lost her forever—until Julia approaches him with a shocking scheme that will ruin her for all respectable society…

…and lead them into an exquisite world of forbidden pleasures”

The little thing says “In Ashlyn Macnamara’s stunning romance debut—perfect for fans of Julia Quinn, Eloisa James, and Sabrina Jeffries” of which I am a huge fan of Quinn and Jeffries (and I need to re-attempt James stuff), so of course how could I resist. Also, cover is gorgeous, love that green.

 

Author: Cyn

noun. a bum a student again. A master’s student…oooh. procrastinator. reader. eater. sleeper. music listen-er. movie go-er. Loves food too much.

0 Replies to “In My Mailbox (05)”

  1. Anna Dressed in Blood sounds so good! I’ve heard some pretty great things about the series. I may have to pick up a copy of it soon. I have no excuse anymore because it’s now in paperback. I hope you enjoy all of your books. 🙂

    Krystianna @ Downright Dystopian

    1. Haha, paperback definitely helps the wallet. I hope you enjoy it when you get the chance to start it!
      Thanks for stopping by (:

  2. I loved the Princess Bride and Anna Dressed in Blood. I don’t blame you for wanting to keep Anna all to yourself! Great books this week.

    Come check out my IMM

  3. Nice haul this week. I know you will have a great time reading these. Feel free to stop by and check out my IMM

  4. I’ve heard that Anna Dressed In Blood was super super scary! I tried reading the first few chapters in B&N but it didn’t catch my attention. Hope you enjoy it though! Thanks for stopping by my blog. 🙂

    Daphne @ Reading Until Dawn

    1. aww that’s too bad. I did really enjoy it, thanks (:

  5. Great haul! I still haven’t read The Princess Bride but I need to! I love the movie.

    1. I love the movie too! Definitely read the book when you get the chance 😉

  6. Great haul! I’ve been meaning to buy The Princess Bride and add it to my collection for the longest, also I’ve heard so much good stuff about Anna Dressed in Blood I guess I should actually go out and read it since I love a great horror.

    1. That was me, until I finally bought The Princess Bride last week haha.
      Yes, definitely give Anna a go! I though at first it was just another paranormal YA, but it’s totally a great ghost story!

  7. I quite like Julia Quinn, too. My favorites by her are Romancing Mr. Bridgerton (Penelope’s story!!!), How to Marry a Marquis (probably the one I re-read the most), and What Happens in London. I usually prefer the lighter, funnier ones.

    Happy reading 🙂

    1. I adore What Happens in London – it’s so adorable! I think The Viscount Who Loved Me is my favourite Bridgerton, but I do love Penelope’s and Colin’s story (it makes me happy Penelope get’s her happy ending!).

  8. Believe it or not I still did not read ‘Princess Bride’. A shame for a fantasy fan, I know. The worst part is – I have it sitting on my shelf and waiting.
    I just love Julia Quinn, her books are so light and funny. I am currently reading Bridgerton series, but this one will probably be the next. I hope your friends like it!

    Thank you for stopping by my IMM and commenting. 🙂
    Dragana @ Bookworm Dreams
    Check out what I got in my mailbox.

    1. I hope you get a chance to read it soon than! haha, it’s definitely a fun read 😉

      Bridgerton series is just so awesome. Have you read any of her other stuff? A cute thing with Julia Quinn’s stuff is she has little connecting bits b/w her books (:

Leave a Reply