Review: After the End by Amy Plum

Review: After the End by Amy PlumAfter the End by Amy Plum
Series: After the End #1
Published by HarperCollins on May 6th 2014
Genres: Fantasy, Young Adult
Pages: 352
Buy: AmazonB&NBook Depository
Goodreads
three-stars

Michael Grant's Gone series meets M. Night Shyamalan's The Village in this riveting story of one girl's journey to save the very people who have lied to her for her entire life. Amy Plum, international bestselling author of the Die for Me series, delivers a fast-paced adventure perfect for fans of Marie Lu, Veronica Rossi, and Robison Wells.
Juneau grew up fearing the outside world. The elders told her that beyond the borders of their land in the Alaskan wilderness, nuclear war had destroyed everything. But when Juneau returns from a hunting trip one day and discovers her people have been abducted, she sets off to find them. And leaving the boundaries for the very first time, she learns the horrifying truth: World War III never happened. Nothing was destroyed. Everything she'd ever been taught was a lie.
As Juneau comes to terms with an unfathomable deception, she is forced to survive in a completely foreign world, using only the skills and abilities she developed in the wild. But while she's struggling to rescue her friends and family, someone else is after her. Someone who knows the extraordinary truth about her secret past.

Review:

The twist in After the End was insane, but it was easy to discover what was going on from the beginning so part of me was a little disappointed.

The story is told from 2 POVs: Juneau and Miles as they journey to Salt Lake City in hopes of getting some answers they have to learn to trust each other, but Juneau can’t. All her life she’s been isolated with her clan thinking that a WWIII happened and decimated the Earth’s population. That is until someone kidnaps her clan. At first I thought the whole premise was pretty cool, but slowly I found myself bored with the cat and mouse chase that was going on. At least Miles had the right mind to tell her that whatever she was sprouting was insane and tries to unsnap her from her “delusions.” It took some time to get warmed up to Juneau. She’s resourceful and seems unapproachable. Killing animals doesn’t faze her as much as Miles, who doesn’t seem like he’s eaten rabbit meat before in his life. Miles might be a privilege spoiled kid that is a shoo-in to Yale, but Juneau pretty much bosses him around throughout the novel.

The romance between them isn’t instant, but it does sort of fizzle out by the end of the novel. I didn’t feel any spark between them. You know that spark that makes you excited about the characters getting together? Yeah, I didn’t feel that between Juneau and Miles. I think they’re one of those characters that makes a believable brother and sister relationship, but other than that I was disappointed with the romance. The pace started out slow, but it did pick up when Miles is introduced. Even though I was a tad disappointed the ending left me anticipating for the sequel. I hope that the romance will improve in the 2nd book.

About Amy Plum

Amy Plum is the author of DIE FOR ME, a YA series set in Paris. The first three books—DIE FOR ME, UNTIL I DIE, and IF I SHOULD DIE—are international bestsellers, and have been translated into thirteen languages. The fourth and fifth books are digital novellas, entitled DIE FOR HER and DIE ONCE MORE, and they are followed by a sixth digital compendium INSIDE THE WORLD OF DIE FOR ME. Amy’s newest series is a duology: AFTER THE END and UNTIL THE BEGINNING. The first book of her YA horror duology, DREAMFALL, will be released by HarperTeen in 2017.

Amy grew up in Birmingham, Alabama before venturing further afield to Chicago, Paris, London and New York. An art historian by training, she can be found on most days either daydreaming or writing (or both) in a Parisian café.

three-stars

Author: Jackie

Leave a Reply